Au sujet du Centre

Le Centre Morris J. Wosk pour le dialogue de SFU crée un impact concret sur les enjeux les plus pressants de la société en se servant du dialogue et de la mobilisation pour créer ensemble des solutions, partager des connaissances, soutenir l’apprentissage ancré dans la communauté et pour renforcer la capacité des autres par l’entremise du dialogue et de sa compréhension.

Au sujet du Centre

Objet du projet

Renforcer la démocratie canadienne

01

La démocratie devient de plus en plus volatile dans notre village planétaire. Au Canada, la majorité des résidents considèrent que notre démocratie ne fonctionne pas bien pour répondre aux besoins des Canadiens ordinaires et ont une confiance limitée dans les élus et les principales institutions démocratiques. Cette insatisfaction accroît la vulnérabilité du Canada face à l’utilisation de messages populistes et de la désinformation en ligne à des fins anti-démocratiques.

Social
Connections

Citizens +
Institutions

Public
Discourse

Civic
Education

The Four Foundations

Two and a half years of research has identified four foundations that need to be strong for our  democratic culture in Canada to remain resilient.

The Five
Principles

The five principles for democratic engagement provide a guide for designing and evaluating a range of democratic processes, from public participation in government decision-making, to civic education, local community action, and the ways we share and discuss information.

Side view of the Jacques-Cartier bridge in Montreal

Build capacity to participate

Deepen relationships and social connection

Be inclusive
and accessible

Foster
commitment to democratic values

Establish
Accountability

 Le Centre Morris J. Wosk pour le dialogue de SFU remercie les membres suivants du corps professoral de l’Université pour leur collaboration et leurs contributions à ce projet : Daniel Savas, chef du projet et responsable de la conception du sondage et de son analyse et Clare McGovern, Mark Pickup et Eline de Rooij, du département de Sciences politiques, pour leurs contributions à la conception du sondage. 

This project has been funded, in part, by the Government of Canada

Ce projet a été financé, en partie, par le Gouvernement du Canada

This project has been funded, in part, by the Government of Canada

Ce projet a été financé, en partie, par le Gouvernement du Canada 

The SFU Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue creates real-world impact for society's most pressing challenges by using dialogue and engagement to co-create solutions, exchange knowledge, support community-engaged learning, and to build the capacity of others in the knowledge and practice of dialogue.

Strengthening Canadian Democracy

01

Democracy is becoming increasingly volatile within our global village. In Canada, a majority of residents believe that our democracy is not working to meet the needs of ordinary Canadians, with low levels of trust in elected officials and key democratic institutions. This dissatisfaction increases Canada's vulnerability to the use of populist messaging and online misinformation for anti-democratic purposes.

 The SFU Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue would like to thank the following SFU faculty for their collaboration and contribution in this project: Daniel Savas, Project Lead responsible for survey design and analysis; Clare McGovern, Mark Pickup, and Eline de Rooij with the Department of Political Science for their contributions to survey design.